Parliamentary Debate: About the Journal

Aim & Scope

Parliamentary Debate: The Journal of the National Parliamentary Debate Association is dedicated to the publication of original scholarship aimed at advancing our thinking about and practice of competitive forensics, especially parliamentary debate. Diverse approaches to forensics scholarship and pedagogy are both welcome and encouraged. Articles may focus narrowly on the practice of parliamentary debate or address issues of relevance to forensics defined more broadly. Beginning in 2016, the journal will publish an issue twice yearly in March and September.

ISSN 2381-4616

Submission Instructions

If you are considering submitting an essay for review by Parliamentary Debate, please observe the following submission guidelines:

Manuscript Preparation:

All submitted articles will be considered for blind peer review. Manuscripts for regular issues will be read by two or three reviewers selected from among the Editorial Board and invited referees; manuscripts for special issues will be read by a guest Editor and invited referees.

All submitted manuscripts must conform to either the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, or to the MLA Style Manual, 8th edition. Manuscripts should also observe guidelines for eliminating ethnic or sexist bias in language.

Research involving the use of human subjects must be approved by an institutional review board to be published in Parliamentary Debate. Manuscripts must not be under consideration by another publication.

Along with the manuscript prepare a separate file as a cover letter. In this file include a history of the manuscript, whether it is derived from an M.FIXMe.A. or Ph.FIXME.D. thesis with the advisor’s name, whether it has been presented at a convention, or other pertinent information about its development.

When submitting, please provide an abstract of 100 words or less with a list of five suggested key words. They typical manuscript should be between 5,000-8,000 words, including all references, notes, and other content.

Manuscript Submission:

To submit a manuscript: 1) to ensure blind review, remove any material that could identify the author from the body of the manuscript; 2) attach the paper in an e-mail with the subject: Parliamentary Debate Article Submission and your name, affiliation, address, phone number, and e-mail address in the body; 3) include a cover letter as described in the preparation guidelines above.

Manuscripts should be prepared using Microsoft Word format (doc or docx). Submit manuscripts by e-mail to co-editors, Dr. Rob Layne and Dr. Amy Arellano using this submision form. Published manuscripts become the exclusive property of the National Parliamentary Debate Association. Authors are responsible for obtaining permission to reproduce copyrighted material from other sources and must sign an agreement for transfer of copyright to the publisher upon acceptance. All accepted manuscripts, artwork, and photographs become property of the publisher.


Proofs will be sent to authors by e-mail. They should be corrected and returned to the editor within three days. Major alterations to the text cannot be accepted.


It is a condition of publication that authors vest or license copyright in their articles, including abstracts, in the National Parliamentary Debate Association. This enables the publisher to ensure full copyright protection and to disseminate the article and the journal, to the widest possible readership in print and electronic formats as appropriate. Authors may, of course, use the article elsewhere after publication provided that prior permission be obtained from the National Parliamentary Debate Association. Authors are themselves responsible for obtaining permission to reproduce copyright material from other sources.

Editorial Board

Amy Arellano, Ph.D., Co-Editor, Boise State University

Rob Layne, Ph.D., Co-Editor, Middle Tennessee State University

Aaron Donaldson, Ph.D.Humboldt State University

Michael Dreher, Ph.D.Bethel University

Tiffany Dykstra, M.A.West Virginia University

Michael Eaves, Ph.D.Valdosta State University

Steven Farias, M.A.University of the Pacific

Konrad Hack, M.A.Concordia University-Irvine

Joe Gantt, M.A.Lewis & Clark College

Kevin Garner, M.A.Progress Missouri

Gary Gillespie, M.A.Northwest University

Danny Iberri-Shea, M.A.San Diego State University

Scott Jensen, M.A.Webster University

Jason Jordan, M.A.,University of Utah

Rob Layne, M.A.University of Utah

Michael Middleton, Ph.D.University of Utah

Marcus Paroske, Ph.D.University of Michigan-Flint

Skip Rutledge, Ph.D.Point Loma Nazarene University

Lauren Schaefer, M.A.Southern Illinois University

Jacob Stutzman, Ph.D.Emporia State University

Denise Vaughan, Ph.D.University of Washington-Bothell

Mary Lynn Veden, Ph.D.Unaffiliated


Parliamentary Debate is currently pursuing indexing by EBSCOHOST research databases. Check back regularly for updates.

ISSN 2381-4616